Khalil's farm

Khalil’s farm

Desert People – life in Turkmen sahara, Iran

Dogs – We took our dogs to the south garden. They say that dogs need to have some duty but our six dogs have no proper duty at the moment. So when Khalil goes out by his motorbike, they’re often happy to follow him.

I’ve got on at the back of his bike and went to the south garden with them. Everybody were so happy that their tails were completely up. Six dogs are usually bored because they have nothing to do except for barking against the people passing by our house.

Khalil increases the speed and turned the third corner. “Piece” seems to be the winner in running. I gave the name of Piece at last because the pattern on his forehead looked like a piece of a jigsaw puzzle (“Mochi”, rice cake, was also one of the possibilities).


******

*****

Other than Piece (male), there are Japon (male) and Kashiko (female). Two dogs died, two stolen and those three are the ones which survived. Each of them grew and the colour of their hair are brighter now. They love playing in the water, running through the water in the fields.

Garaglok, which is a mother of eight puppies, on the other hand, stayed at home. When dogs go out, one of them always stays at home. I don’t know how they communicate but there must be a sign for that. These days Garaglok is taking the duty because of her children.
Puppies were eight, finally. I’m so happy for that but putting names on them is again a problem. Or we’ll probably give away some. I asked Khalil if we can avoid cutting their ears this time because I feel so sorry for cutting off their ears and tails. Khalil seems to have felt the same. But Turkmen people will equally say, “You must cut off their ears!” when they see it.

We’re now mixing fresh green grass with dry grass that we give to cows. Grasses are grown high everywhere, in empty spaces or in desert. But Khalil always goes to the south garden to cut them. I decided to go with him today because the weather was fine. I also wanted to see if there’s any changes in the garden because I haven’t been there for a long time.

The grass were grown knee-length in the site. I found some little barley as well (above). It’s still difficult for me to discriminate barley from wheat so I have to ask someone all the time. I didn’t find any colourful wild flowers but it’s probably too early for that.

Khalil was mowing methodically from the corner, which was unlike him. The grass is cut with a sickle and packed in a huge bag and carried by his motorbike.

I didn’t help him cut the grass but enjoyed playing with puppies and taking pictures. The picture below is a nice one Khalil took (Now I know a part of why people take me as a Chinese).

I found some vegetables planted by Naser at a place where we planted melons last year. The field was overgrown with weeds but I could still harvest lots of sabzi and radish.

Naser has planted some beans in a passage between a storage and a water tank. I understood that he has chosen the place to avoid the wind and protect the seedlings. Clever! He gets the best result with the least effort. Last year, when he saw us planting pumpkin seedlings at equal intervals, he said to us, “You’re too serious!” Khalil became a bit angry with that but when I saw Naser’s plants I must declare him winner. Because our pumpkins in the south garden resulted in total destruction later on.

A neighbor’s horse against the pine trees, on the way home. A Turkmen good-luck charm were hanged on her neck.